Sibling Projects (Global option)

Sibling Projects (Global option)

On the Tools menu, click Global Options.

BuildPlus Global Sibling Projects.PNG

The BuildPlus default is to include all projects in the BuildRoot as sibling projects. Here is what this means in some important contexts:

  • Existing Users - Single Project - no change.
  • Existing Users - Multiple Disjoint Projects - default will cross-check each project against the others.
    • Note that a user with blocks with external sources defined will have to check the ramifications.
  • Existing Users - Multiple Disjoint Projects plus an Overall Project - default will be to include all of them, so the user should de-select the Overall Project in the options.
  • Existing Users - Non-Production test projects - default will be to include them, so they should be deselected.

If Do not automatically include sibling projects is checked, no sibling projects will be selected in future projects.

If Only show the sibling projects dialog during the first build is checked, the sibling project dialog will no longer appear during rebuilds. The client will not check this, because the project presentation of this same query will have been responded to when the client understands the question.

The Deselect all current sibling projects in all projects button can reset all projects so there are no associated sibling projects in future builds. The projects affected by this reset are then displayed. It also checks the box for "Do not show the sibling projects dialog in-line during a build". This feature was used to undo an early implementation of the support that selected all projects as siblings within a build root. For clients, for whom all projects are related, this is useful. For our test builds, it is the exception rather than the rule. We have to explicitly include sibling projects, whereas our objective is to include the automatically for the client and have them deselected if needed.

For more information, see also Finding more tags in Sibling Projects