Launching Hyperview when a Hyperview Browser is already active

When a copy of Hyperview is already running, under some circumstances attempting to launch a new copy of Hyperview (from the command line, or from a shortcut) will instead cause the document specified to be displayed in the previously running copy of Hyperview. This is intended to prevent multiple Hyperview windows from being spawned in situations where Hyperview is brought up automatically from a link in another program, say, and can always be overridden with the /newwindow commandline switch.

An existing Hyperview window will be reused to process a new request if all of the following are true:

If multiple hyperview windows are already open and not all displaying the same M14 file, then window reuse is unpredictable.

See also